Buy Memphis Slim: Fip, Fil And Sim (25th anniversary edition) using the links below

Memphis Slim: Fip, Fil And Sim (25th anniversary edition)

Memphis Slim

10 August 2009
Until his death in Paris in 1988 at the age of 73, Memphis Slim was one of blues' major exponents. Born and raised in Memphis, he moved to Chicago in the late 1930s, where he began recording as a leader for the Okeh label, and throughout the 40s and the 50s cut sides for Chess, Mercury and United Records, before landing at Vee-Jay and recording definitive versions of his best-known songs.
Slim exhibited his perpetually independent mindset by leaving the US for good in 1962. A tour of Europe in partnership with bassist Willie Dixon a couple of years earlier had so intrigued the pianist that he permanently moved to Paris, where recording and touring possibilities seemed limitless and the veteran pianist was treated with the respect too often denied even African-American blues stars at home back then. He remained there until his death, enjoying his stature as expatriate blues royalty.
1 Fip, Fil and Fim
2 Christina
3 Zorba The Freak
4 Movin'On
5 Down In Alabama
6 Keep The Blues Alive
7 Violin Boogie
8 Sassy Mae
9 All By Myself
10 Bye Bye Bye Blues
11 That's Where I'm Coming From
12 Call Me The Boogie Man
13 1040 Form Blues
14 You'll Soon Be Singing The Blues ?
15 He Flew The Coop
16 Going Back To Memphis
17 Do You Thing I've Got The Blues
18 Fore Day Train
19 Shaking That Thing
20 Early In The Morning
21 Memphis Blues


Memphis Slim: Fip, Fil And Sim (25th anniversary edition)

Loading loading...
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1