John Coltrane - Heavyweight Champion: The Complete Atlantic Recordings

John Coltrane

30 September 2013

While John Coltrane first gained attention for his revolutionary ‘sheets of sound’ technique, it was the deep spirituality of his music that really made his recordings as a bandleader such classics. The albums this giant of music recorded for Atlantic in 1959 and 1960 really represent the heart of his legacy.

Original Atlantic producer Joel Dorn supervised this reissue from the earliest generation masters Coltrane recorded during the 1959-1961 stint with the label, in the process discovering an entire reel of tape from John’s first Atlantic solo sessions.

This unissued material, including revealing takes of such landmarks as ‘Giant Steps’ and ‘Naima’, makes up an entire album of this superb 7 CD box set.
• The booklet features notes by Coltrane biographer Louis Porter plus testimonials from such contemporaries as Yusef Lateef and Charles Lloyd and a rare interview with ‘Cousin Mary’ Alexander offering a personal view of jazz’s true Heavyweight Champion, as well as a collection of beautiful photographs!
• Includes more than an hour of never-before released-material from John’s very first Atlantic sessions!
• Such great musicians as Milt Jackson, Don Cherry, Charlie Haden, McCoy Tyner, Elvin Jones, Eric Dolphy and others can be heard playing in support on HEAVYWEIGHT CHAMPION!

A reconfiguration of the original Rhino box set which brought these legendary recordings out on CD for the first time, Heavyweight Champion is presented in a sleek, hard clamshell box, with the CDs held in elegant card sleeves and a glossy 78-page booklet.

"Great music that still sounds fresh."  Financial Times ****

"There is so much fascinating and rewarding music here that five stars are awarded without hesitation."  Jazz Journal *****

1. Stairway To The Stars
2. The Late Late Blues
3. Bags & Trane
4. Three Little Words
5. The Night We Called It A Day
6. Be-Bop
7. Blues Legacy
8. Centerpiece
9. Giant Steps (Alternate Version)
10. Naima (Alternate Version)
11. Like Sonny (Alternate Version)

1. Spiral
2. Countdown
3. Countdown (Alternate Take)
4. Syeeda’s Song Flute
5. Syeeda’s Song Flute (Alternate Take)
6. Mr. P.C.
7. Giant Steps
8. Cousin Mary
9. Cousin Mary (Alternate Take)
10. I’ll Wait And Pray
11. I’ll Wait And Pray (Alternate Take)
12. Little Old Lady

1. Like Sonny
2. Harmonique
3. My Shining Hour
4. Naima
5. Some Other Blues
6. Fifth House
7. Cherryco
8. The Blessing
9. Focus On Sanity
10. The Invisible
11. Bemsha Swing

1. Village Blues
2. Village Blues (Alternate Take)
3. My Favorite Things
4. Central Park West
5. Mr. Syms
6. Untitled Original (Exotica)
7. Summertime
8. Body And Soul
9. Body And Soul (Alternate Take)
10. Mr. Knight

1. Blues To Elvin (Alternate Take)
2. Blues To Elvin
3. Mr. Day
4. Blues To You (Alternate Take)
5. Blues To You
6. Blues To Bechet
7. Satellite
8. Everytime We Say Goodbye
9. 26-2
10. But Not For Me

1. Liberia
2. The Night Has A Thousand Eyes
3. Equinox
4. Olé
5. Dahomey Dance
6. Aisha
7. Original Untitled Ballad (To Her Ladyship)

(All selections previously unissued)
Giant Steps (Alternate Version)
1. Take 1 [incomplete]
2. Take 2 [false start]
3. Take 3 [incomplete]
4. Take 4 [incomplete]
5. Take 5 [alternate]
6. Take 6 [false start]
7. Take 7 [incomplete]
Naima (Alternate Version)
8. Take 1 [incomplete]
9. Take 2 [incomplete]
10. Take 4 [false start]
11. Take 5 [alternate]
12. Take 6 [alternate]
Like Sonny (Alternate Version)
13. Rehearsal 1 [false start]
14. Rehearsal 2 [incomplete]
15. Take 1 [false start]
16. Take 2 [incomplete]
17. Take 3 [incomplete]
18. Take 4 [false start]
19. Take 5 [alternate]
20. Take 6 [incomplete]
Giant Steps (Alternate Version)
21. Take 3 [incomplete]
22. Take 6 [alternate]
Blues To Elvin
23. Take 2 [false start]
24. Take 3 [alternate]
Blues To You
25. Take 2 [alternate]